Social Studies

Nigerian National Symbols explained

Olawunmi Omosanya - Fri, 15th March, 2019 @ 15:32: PM

What are National Symbols?

A National symbol is a symbol used to manifest a nation, state, country or any entity to the world as a national community. National symbols are unique to each Nation, State or Country. They are used to represent a country and it's people. They convey important meanings such as the history, tradition, values, morals, culture and ideals of a Nation or Country. National symbols also unite the people of a Nation, For instance, Although Nigeria is composed of about 250 ethnic groups; the Nigerian flag presents the Nation's unity in any International football match regardless the ethnicity of each player.

Let's take a look at some of the Nigerian National Symbols and their significance


1. Nigerian Coat of Arm

The Nigerian Coat of Arm represent Nigeria's unity, power and authority. They are used as a stamp to the seal of the President, Vice President, House of the House of Representatives and the House of Senate. It was first approved by Queen Elizabeth II on December 7, in 1971. After series of modifications, It became officially adopted in 1975, about 15 years after Nigerian gained independent from their colonial masters. 

Seven prominent features can be seen on the Nigerian Coat of Arm. They are:

  • Eagle: Represents strength and pride of Nigeria.

  • The white "Y" shape: Represents Nigeria's 2 iconic rivers (River Niger and River Benue). Both rivers unite at Lokoja.

  • Two Horses: Represents the dignity and pride of Nigeria.

  • Green and white bands above the shield: Represents Nigeria's rich soil and beauty.

  • Black shield: Represent the rich fertile soil of Nigeria.

  • The gold band around the base: On it is inscribed "Unity and Faith, Peace and Progress".

  • The base flowers: Also known as "costus spectabilis". They represent the beauty of Nigeria.


2. The Nigeria Flag


Image Credit: i1.wp

It was designed by Mr Taiwo Akinkunmi, in 1959. The color Green represents Nigeria's greath wealth and abundant natural resources. The color White stands for Unity and Peace.

Officially, The flag was raised up for the 1st time on October 1st, 1960.

Note: The Nigerian flag is always raised higher than any other flag within Nigeria. Once damaged or torn, It should be burnt.


3. Nigerian National Anthem

A country's National Anthem can be very motivational and that of Nigeria is not an exception. It strongly unites all Nigerian as One Sovereign State. A typical example of this is seen before a National Football Match. The first (former) anthem of Nigeria  (Nigeria we hail Thee) was written in 1960. The lyrics of Current Nigerian National Anthem was put into a melodious music by Mr. Benedict .E. Odiase and adopted in 1978. It is sang in every morning in all Nigerian primary and secondary schools. It has 2 stanzas

The National Anthem

1st Stanza
Arise, O compatriots, Nigeria's call obey
To serve our fatherland
With love and strength and faith
The labor of our heroes past
Shall never be in vain
To serve with heart and might
One nation bound in freedom, peace, and unity.

2nd Stanza
Oh God of creation, direct our noble cause
Guide our leaders right
Help our youth and truth to know
In love and honesty to grow
And living just and true
Great lofty heights attain
To build a nation where peace and justice shall reign.


4. The Nigerian National Pledge

This is a solemn promise. It's words are deep and inspiring. It is said every morning in all Nigerian primary and secondary schools just immediately after the Nigerian National Anthem is sung. It was written by Professor Felicia Adebola in 1976.

The National Pledge
I pledge to Nigeria, my country
To be faithful, loyal, and honest
To serve Nigeria with all my strength
To defend her unity
And uphold her honor and glory
So help me God.


5. The Nigerian Naira

The Naira is Nigeria's official legal tender of which the Nigerian Central Bank is the only authorized issuer. The different Naira denominations are 5 Naira, 10 Naira, 20 Naira, 50 Naira, 100 Naira, 200 Naira, 500 Naira and 1,000 Naira. (Naira is symbolized as N with a double strike through)

Amazing facts in Social Studies


The United Nations has six principal organs or arms. These are

  1. The General Assembly
  2. The Security Council
  3. The Economic and Social Council
  4. The Trusteeship
  5. The International Court of Justice
  6. The Secretariat

United Nations (UN) is the world body set up to promote peace and unity among the countries of the world. It officially came into existence on the 24th day of October, 1945 after it had been ratified by five permanent members of the Security Council and by the other 46 signatories. These permanent members are:

  1. United States of America
  2. United Kingdom
  3. Soviet Union
  4. Republic of China
  5. France

In total, the numerical strength of the United Nations at its inception was fifty one (51) States

The Headquarter of United Nations is in New York City. It is located in the Turtle Bay Neighborhood of Manhattan

PLEASE COMMENT WISELY: You can upload relevant images to your contribition just below this comment box



LEN ACADEMY is a subsidiary of COSDA SYSTEMS

Copyright © , All rights reserved.

Designed by Alfred Ajibola | Powered by